The Messenger of Allaah sallAllaahu 3Alayhi wa sallam said: "Whoever directs someone to a good, then he will have the reward equal to the doer of the action". [Saheeh Muslim]

When My Lord Asks Me…


روى ابن الجوزي عن أبي حامد الخلفاني أنه قال لأحمد بن حنبل رحمه الله: يا أبا عبد الله هذه القصائد الرقاق التي في ذكر الجنة والنار أي شيء تقول فيها ؟

فقال : مثل أي شيء ؟ فسرد له الرجل تلك الأبيات

وهو يقول : إِذَا مَا قَــال لِـــي رَبِّي أَمَّا اسْتَحْيَيْت تَعْصِيْنِي

“فقال:”أعد علي”قال:فأعدت عليه،فقام ودخل بيته ورد الباب

واصبح له نحيباً من كثرة البكاء.
وقال تلامذته بكى الإمام حتى اصبح لهُ صوتاً
كبكاء الطفل حتى كادَ يهلك من كثرة البكاء.

Poem that made Imaam Ahmad cry

Ibn al-Jawzee mentions in his book that One of the students of Imaam Ahmad asked him: ‘Yaa Abaa 3AbdAllaah, what is your view about these odes (poem) which mention Paradise and Hell?’

He asked, ‘Like what?‘ He said, ‘They say:

When my Lord asks me..
Are you not ashamed to disobey Me?….

He asked him to repeat it & he did it again. Then Ahmad stood up and went into his house and closed the door behind him. The student said, ‘I could hear him from inside the house weeping like a child, it was as though he would die from crying:

This was what recited to him (1)

may Allaah subhaanahu wa ta3aala make my scale heavy with good deeds on the day of Judgement & enter me to Jannah without accounts. aameen

 أَتَيْــت إِلَيْك فَارْحَمْنِــي وَثقــّـل فِي مَوَازِيْنِي

I have come to you (in repentance) – so have mercy on me, and make heavy my scales (with good deeds)

وَخَـفَّف فِي جَزَائِــــي أَنْت أَرَجـى مِن يُجَازِيْنِي

And lighten my account – You are the best of who will bring me to account.

Download the poem (Arabic & English) pdf

(1) “Munaaqib of Imaam Ahmad by Ibn al-Jawzee, page: 205
(Dhayl Tabaqaat’l-Hanaabilah, 1/53)
 

Related Post:

A Talk with the Self

Comments on: "When My Lord Asks Me…" (4)

  1. […] When My Lord Asks Me… […]

  2. Assalaamu Alaikum Sister
    SubhanAllaah! What a reminder. Can’t get enough of it. I want to download the words in English and Arabic but the pdf link you provided is not working. Please help me in this regard.
    Jazak Allaahu Khairan
    Asma

  3. wa 3Alaykum Assalam wa rahmatullaah sister Asma

    Will upload the file soon inshaa’Allaah. I forgot to upload
    jazanaa wa iyyakum

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

